4rd International Conference on


Date and Location

27 - 29 February, 2020

University of Münster, Germany


Keynote Speakers

Roger Congleton, West Virgina University, US

Marta Reynal-Querol, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain


Conference Description

The conference addresses the origin and prospects of democracy and dictatorship, policy control and governance structures in comparative political systems and transition processes from dictatorship to democracy and vice versa.  Bringing together scholars interested in interdisciplinary work on comparative political systems is our focus.

We welcome theoretical as well as empirical papers by both economists and other social scientists. In particular, papers may cover topics such as:

  • Political accountability in autocracies and democracies
  • Violence, conflicts, and revolutions
  • Political stability and transitions
  • Institutional change and prosperity
  • Constitutional history of democracy
  • Culture, religion, and political institutions


Scientific Board

Thomas Apolte, University of Münster, Germany

Mario Ferrero, University of Eastern Piedmont, Italy

Mario Gilli, Bicocca University Milan, Italy

Yuan Li, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany


Deadlines and Submission

Abstract submission deadline: September 2, 2019 (max. 300 words)

Notification: October 15, 2019

Full paper submission: January 31, 2020

Registration open: October 15, 2019 to January 31, 2020

Please submit your abstract via the online submission form below.


Registration Fees

Before December 2, 2019: :

  • Senior researchers: 100€
  • PhD students: 75€

From December 2, 2019:

  • Senior researchers: 140€
  • PhD students: 100€

Note: Catering during the coffee breaks as well as the receptions/dinner will be provided. Payment can be made after registration (please follow the instructions given during the registration process).

Please note that payment of the conference fee is required for completing the registration process. Submission fees are non-refundable in case of cancellation of participation.


Conference Contact Information

The Chair of Political Economy

Scharnhorststr. 100

48151 Münster, Germany



The call for papers can be downloaded here.