PEDD Young Scholar Award

The PEDD Young Scholar Award is endowed with 500€ and is presented to the best paper authored by one or multiple young scholars (pre- or post-doc, no tenured faculty) all under the age of 35 as of Sep 1, 2022. Papers co-authored with tenured colleagues/supervisors or senior researchers older than 35 are not eligible.

Four long-time members of the PEDD family kindly served as jury members:

  • Giacomo De Luca (University of Bozen-Bolzano)
  • Maria Marino (Autonomous University of Barcelona)
  • Daniel Meierrieks (WZB Berlin Social Science Center)
  • Katarzyna Metelska-Szaniawska (University of Warsaw)

The jury evaluated all eligible papers submitted by the full paper deadline. Each jury member independently chose their top 3 papers and gave three points to the top-ranked paper, two points to the second-ranked paper and one point to the third-ranked paper. The PEDD Young Scholar Award is awarded to the paper that received the overall highest number of points.

The eligible papers submitted generally reect a high degree of scientic quality, cover a wide range of topics and methods, and address relevant research questions in the current literature. The eligible papers and candidates include:

  • Yulia Khalikova (University of Hamburg)
  • Tobias Korn (Leibniz University)
  • Maite Laméris (University of Groningen)
  • Wladislaw Mill (University of Mannheim)
  • Jonas Willibald Schmid (University of Oslo)
  • Junze Sun (European University Institute)
  • Konstantinos Theocharopoulos (University of Siegen)
  • Kerstin Unfried (Bernhard-Nocht-Institute for Tropical Medicine)

The winner of the 2023 PEDD Young Scholar Award will be announced in the Opening Session on Thursday, February 23, 2023.


Past winners of the PEDD Young Scholar Awards:

  • 2022: Leonardo D'Amico (Havard University): "Place based policies with local voting: Lessons from the EU cohesion policy"