Münster as a place to study

© cudak/Shutterstock.com

The ideal place to study

Three things immediately strike those who visit Münster for the first time: its beautiful old town, the large number of bikes and the many young people. More than 50,000 students shape the historic and simultaneously modern university town with its almost 300,000 inhabitants.

History and Culture

Münster was founded in 805 and came to fame when the 30-Years’ War came to an end in Münster with the Peace of Westphalia of 1648. The town centre with its arcades, churches, gabled houses, narrow alleyways, lively places, traditional pubs and modern cafes is popular with both tourists and Münsterers alike.

Other outstanding qualities of Münster are its ample green areas, with the city’s alameda and a green belt around the old town, and its being embedded into the charming parkland of the Münsterland.

The cultural scene and the museum scene in Münster are multifaceted and well-known beyond the region as they comprise both Münster’s traditional history (Peace Hall, Mühlenhof Open-Air Museum) and the modern arts (graphic art museum Pablo Picasso, sculpture exhibition, Städtische Bühne).

For more information go to:

www.muenster.de/stadt/tourismus/

Most liveable city of 2004

Why did the LivCom judging panel name Münster as the world’s most liveable city of 2004? Because the town convinced them in the five required categories:

1. Enhancement of the Natural and Built Landscape

2. Arts, Culture and Heritage

3. Environmental Best Practices

4. Community Participation and Empowerment

5. Strategic Planning

Münster received the highest possible rating in all of the categories and, in addition, also scored with its focus on a sustainable and integrated urban development

University of Muenster (WWU)

WWU was founded in 1780 and is the fifth largest university in Germany today. The university is known for the high quality of its education in its approx. 250 courses of study, ranging from applied linguistics to sports. WWU enjoys a respectable position on the international academic scene and constantly strives to improve it. International visibility and reputation are important prerequisites both for an involvement in European and global research programmes and, increasingly, for recruiting excellent researchers from all over the world.

Some 550 official partnership and cooperation agreements connects Münster University with universities and academic institutions worldwide. In addition to the approx. 700 visiting scholars who research and teach, Münster University has more than 3,100 international students. As with visiting scholars, international students are also supported by the university’s International Office.

 

© Angela Rohde/Shutterstock.com

Studienort Münster

Ein idealer Studienort

Drei Dinge fallen beim ersten Münster-Besuch sofort ins Auge: Die schöne Altstadt, die große Anzahl an Fahrrädern und die vielen jungen Menschen. Mehr als 50.000 Studierende prägen das Gesicht der traditionsreichen und zugleich modernen Universitätsstadt mit knapp 300.000 Einwohnern.

Geschichte und Kultur

Münster wurde im Jahr 805 gegründet und bekannt, als der 30-jährige Krieg im Jahre 1648 mit dem Westfälischen Frieden in Münster beendet wurde. Die Innenstadt mit ihren Arkaden, Kirchen, Giebelhäusern, schmalen Gassen, lebhaften Plätzen, traditionellen Kneipen und modernen Cafés ist bei Touristen und Münsteranern gleichermaßen beliebt.

Zu den herausragenden Qualitäten Münsters gehören außerdem die starke Durchgrünung der Stadt mit der Promenade, einem Grünring um die Altstadt, und die Einbettung in die reizvolle Parklandschaft des Münsterlandes.

Die Kulturszene und die Museumslandschaft in Münster sind facettenreich und überregional bekannt, da sie sowohl die traditionelle Geschichte Münsters (Friedenssaal, Mühlenhof-Freilichtmuseum) als auch die modernen Künste (Grafikmuseum Pablo Picasso, Skulpturenausstellung, Städtische Bühnen) umfassen.

Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter:

www.muenster.de/stadt/tourismus/

Lebenswerteste Stadt 2004

Warum hat die LivCom-Jury Münster 2004 zur lebenswertesten Stadt der Welt ernannt? Weil die Stadt in den fünf geforderten Kategorien zu überzeugen wusste:

  1. Verbesserung der Landschaft
  2. Gestaltung des historischen Erbes
  3. Umweltbewusstes Leben
  4. Einbeziehung der Bürgerinnen und Bürger
  5. Integrierte Zukunftsplanung

Münster erhielt in allen Kategorien die höchstmögliche Bewertung und konnte durch den Schwerpunkt auf einer zukunftsbeständigen und integrierten Stadtentwicklung zusätzlich punkten.

Die Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Die WWU wurde im Jahre 1780 gegründet und ist heute die fünftgrößte Universität Deutschlands. Die Universität ist bekannt für die hohe Qualität ihrer Ausbildung in den rund 250 Studiengängen von der Anglistik bis zur Zahnmedizin. Die WWU ist im internationalen Wissenschaftsumfeld gut positioniert und baut diese Position ständig aus. Internationale Sichtbarkeit und Reputation sind wichtige Voraussetzungen sowohl für die Beteiligung an europäischen und globalen Forschungsprogrammen als auch zunehmend für die Rekrutierung exzellenter Forscherinnen und Forscher weltweit.

Rund 550 offizielle Partnerschafts- und Kooperationsabkommen verbinden die Universität Münster mit Hochschulen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen in aller Welt. Neben den rund 700 forschenden und lehrenden Gastwissenschaftlern studieren über 3.100 internationale Studierende an der Universität Münster. Ebenso wie die Gastwissenschaftler werden auch die internationalen Studierenden vom International Office der Universität betreut.