John Molson Case Competition 2023

The John Molson MBA International Case Competition, one of the most prestigious case study competitions in the world, gives WWU students the opportunity to demonstrate their analytical skills as well as their creativity and to compete digitally with teams from all over the world.

The Case Competition

The Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Münster has been participating in the John Molson MBA International Case Competition for years, organized by the Berens research team. Since 2019, the Institute of Management Accounting and Control and the research team Berens cooperate regarding the organization for the participation in the John Molson MBA International Case Competition. The competition takes place under the motto "Innovate. Connect. Compete." in Montreal, Canada, from January 1 to January 6, 2023.

As part of the competition, students work on case studies as a team of four and present them to a jury of international company representatives. In recent years, two teams competed in each case study and the competition consisted of 5 preliminary round case studies as well as a semi-final and final round. 

Application

Interested students please send a short application including a letter of motivation, CV and overview of grades to our  Institute's mailing adress until October 16, 6 p.m.
Participation in the competition is free of charge for students.

Selection of participants

Participants will be selected by the Institute of Management Accounting and Control during the selection day on October 18. Master students of all majors are invited to apply for participation.
During the selection day, students will be given a case study to work on in assigned teams within a few hours and present it in English to a jury of institute members.

Preparation for the competition

A number of preparation dates will take place up to the competition in consultation with the participants.

Credit

The event can be credited with 6 ECTS. For students with Major Accounting this can be done for the module ACM09, ACM12 or ACM15. For students with other majors, appropriate solutions will be sought; in the past, credit was possible as FCM15 and "Cases & Presentation" (in CfM01). Credit in MCM16 is also conceivable

     


    Event no.
     tbd 
     
    Study program
    Master
     
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
     
    Timeline
    See below
     
    Type of event
    Case Competition
     
    Teaching language
    englisch
     

    Timeline

    date  
    October 16, 2022, 6 p.m. Application Deadline
    October 18, 2022 (Time tbd) Selection day 
    October 2022 till December 2022 Trainings after arrangement
    January 1 to 6, 2023 Competition

John Molson Case Competition 2023

Im Rahmen der John Molson MBA International Case Competition, einer der renommiertesten Fallstudienwettbewerbe der Welt, bekommen Studierende der WWU die Möglichkeit ihre analytischen Fähigkeiten sowie ihre Kreativität unter Beweis zu stellen und sich digital mit Teams aus der ganzen Welt zu messen.

Die Case Competition

  • Die wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität Münster nimmt seit Jahren organisiert durch das Forschungsteam Berens, an der John Molson MBA International Case Competition teil. Seit 2019 kooperieren das Institut für Controlling und Unternehmenssteuerung und das Forschungsteam Berens hinsichtlich der Organisation für die Teilnahme an der John Molson MBA International Case Competition. Der Wettbewerb findet unter dem Motto "Innovate. Connect. Compete." vom 01. Januar - 06. Januar 2023 in Montreal, Kanada statt.

  • Die Studierenden bearbeiten im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs als Viererteam Fallstudien und präsentieren diese vor einer Jury aus internationalen Unternehmensvertretern. In den letzten Jahren traten bei jeder Fallstudie zwei Teams gegeneinander an und der Wettbewerb bestand aus 5 Vorrundenfallstudien sowie einer Halbfinal- und Finalrunde. Durch die digitale Durchführung kann es zu Änderungen im Format kommen. 

 

Bewerbung

  • Interessierte Studierende richten hierzu bitte eine Kurzbewerbung mit Motivationsschreiben, Lebenslauf und Notenübersicht an Patrick Breuer.
  • Die Teilnahme am Wettbewerb ist für die Studierenden kostenlos.

 

Auswahl der Teilnehmer

  • Die Auswahl der Teilnehmer erfolgt durch das Institut für Controlling und Unternehmenssteuerung im Rahmen eines gesonderten Auswahltags. Masterstudierende aller Schwerpunkte sind herzlich eingeladen, sich um die Teilnahme zu bewerben.
  • Der Auswahltag findet Anfang des WiSe 2022 statt. Im Rahmen des Auswahltages wird den Studierenden eine Fallstudie ausgehändigt, die sie in zugelosten Teams innerhalb weniger Stunden bearbeiten und auf Englisch vor einer Jury aus Institutsmitgliedern präsentieren.

 

 Vorbereitung auf den Wettbewerb

  • Bis zum Wettbewerb finden in Absprache mit den Teilnehmern einige Vorbereitungstermine statt.

 

Anrechnung

  • Die Veranstaltung kann mit 6 ECTS angerechnet werden. Für Studierende mit Major Accounting kann dies für das Modul ACM09, ACM12 oder ACM15 erfolgen. Für Studierende anderer Schwerpunkte werden entsprechende Lösungen angestrebt; in der Vergangenheit war die Anrechnung als FCM15 sowie "Cases & Presentation" (im CfM01) möglich. Auch eine Anrechnung im MCM16 ist denkbar.

     


    Veranstaltungsnr.
        
     
    Studiengang
    Master
     
    Ort
    Montreal, Kanada
     
    Zeitplan
    Siehe unten
     
    Art der Veranstaltung
    Fallstudienwettbewerb
     
    Unterrichtssprache
    englisch
     

    Zeitplan

    datum  
    tbd (Anfang WiSe 2022) Bewerbungsschluss                                                          
    tbd (Anfang WiSe 2022) Auswahltag
    Oktober 2022 bis Januar 2023 Trainings nach Absprache
    01. - 06. Januar 2023 Wettbewerb